Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Open Forum >> confidence issues Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
confidence issues - June 12, 2013 10:19:25 PM   
jojo0725

I've got something on my mind that's been eating me for awhile.the fact that I just don't feel as though my skill level is sufficient to be safe and effective as a PT. I've talked to people i'm close to about it, and they just think it's stupid...they don't understand why I feel the way I do. I graduated last year and have been practicing ever since.

I was a terrible student in PT school; profs were not fond of me; and I failed three practical exams--I had actually maxed out on practical failures and was given a second chance because, in the words of the program director, "in my 25 years I had never encountered this problem before." It's not as if I didn't try...one semester I was having issues with an ex who had been stalking me and that was rough but the other semester it was like I was just struggling and I couldn't get it even when I tried.

Then I want on internships and everything was fine. Of course, our program pretty would basically just match you to what they think you can do. So if you're not strong in neuro, they won't let you do inpatient rehab. If you're not strong in manual therapy, for your ortho requirement they'll stick you at a facility that's protocol based where you won't do much manual. Everybody does acute care but we had a CI speak to our class and she mentioned that our director will "warn" sites about students who don't know their stuff or have strong personalities. So...even though I passed my clinicals without an issue, I can't say that it means much as far as whether or not I met the standards for the program. I keep thinking that with time I was going to feel better about my skill level. But I spent 7 months on internship, have been working for almost a year, and nothing's changed.