My Forums 
Search
  FAQ  Log Out
Follow @RehabEdge

RE: A problem arises...

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Open Forum >> RE: A problem arises... Page: <<   < prev  1 [2] 3 4 5   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: A problem arises... - July 4, 2012 5:17:09 PM   
Niko

Thanks TI, I agree.
Sebastian, you must be practicing in a different universe if you disagree that PTs have been struggling to find which manual therapy technique is the most effective through research, everyday practice, or plain arguments. One of my points was that no manual therapy technique is better or more “Scientific” than another. I don’t care if it is chiropractic or massage therapy or joint mobilization or simple touch.

In school I was taught Maitland, when I started practicing I used to do only SNAGS, then focused on deep tissue work, neural manipulation, MFR, MET, craniosacral, functional indirect/ osteopathic, I practiced every one of Philip Greenman’s suggested techniques. Eventually, I found out that I could reproduce same and better functional outcomes with the use of exercise alone. I’m not referring to the traditional exercise protocols alone, but far beyond that with mindful practices like Qi Gong and yoga. Then I started using manual therapy primarily for other reasons and not for “technical” reasons like improving ROM etc. I primarily use manual therapy to build a strong connection with the patient, reassure them that I’m here to help, remove the protective barrier that we all humans have, and allow them get in touch with their body. I meet these goals with manual therapy every time. I do not need any research to validate this. And I’m still evidence based through exercise.

(in reply to TransientImage)
Post #: 21
RE: A problem arises... - July 5, 2012 4:59:58 PM   
Sebastian Asselbergs

Good for you Niko.
You do not need research to validate your practice?
Qi Gong.