Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Sports & Fitness >> Ankle Sprains Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Ankle Sprains - October 2, 2010 11:18:04 PM   
Mike.1283

Hey everyone 1st post here, so I guess I need a quick intro also, I'm a personal trainer, aspiring S&C Coach and student taking courses towards a Masters.
I'm currently having issues with an ankle sprain that just won't seem to get better, and I'd love to hear some opinions, because a lot of my peers that I've chatted with prior haven't heard anything like it.
I sprained my ankle about 3 months ago and I went through about 8 sessions with a PT she did all the basics Ultrasound, some mobilization (not enough for what I'd like, but not the current issue) and obviously the strengthening that we all do for ankle sprains with bands and BAPS boards.  The issues are as follow, I'm getting random ankle pain (pain would most likely resemble a 'cramp' feeling) but its in the ligaments (ATFL) and talus. The pain tends to be random, but more frequent when I'm doing anything above steady state running, or moving laterally, I do feel some cracking and some instability through the joint when doing some steady state work. When I run my finger or ice (ice massage) over the area of the ATFL I feel a tingling down into my final 2 toes, which makes me believe something is 'impeding' the nerve. I don't know if this is something that can be fixed by soft tissue/manual therapy/mobilization or if it needs time to heal.
Post #: 1
RE: Ankle Sprains - November 5, 2010 12:23:57 PM   
SpokanePT

Make sure that the distal tib/fib joint is gliding posteriorly during dorsiflexion. There is a nice tape job using Leukotape to try and facilitate the motion.

Acceleration Physical Therapy in Spokane WA

(in reply to Mike.1283)
Post #: 2
RE: Ankle Sprains - November 5, 2010 1:35:57 PM   
Shill