Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Students >> PT vs PTA-general Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
PT vs PTA-general - July 23, 2009 10:24:19 PM   
AMK2009

I'm a recent graduate, 21 years old with a Bachelor's in Zoology and most of the prereqs required for PT or PTA (though either way I have to take some still). I would love some insight in the major differences between the two jobs and programs from you. I have found some discussion of this but it mostly seems to be for people in a different phase of life than i am (older, with families, looking for a career change).

So basically-What are the pros/cons of each position? why did you choose what you did? is there opportunity to work part-time? what do you (as a PT or PTA) do on a regular, day to day basis? what is the best and worst thing about your job? do different personalities do better in the different positions? are you happy with the choice you made?

thank you so much!!
Post #: 1
RE: PT vs PTA-general - July 24, 2009 4:19:24 AM   
annpsu25

AMK2009-

I'm a PTA. If you already have a bachelor's degree, I would go and get your DPT.
Same amount of schooling would be needed for either (2 1/2 or 3 years) being that you already have a 4 year degree.
PT's obviously will have more income however, depending on the school- it may cost a lot more than an assistant program.
PT's evaluate the patient and determine what treatments will need to be delivered to achieve the patient and therapist's goals
PTA's follow the treatment plan and work closely with the PT.
Once the patient has achieved whatever goals have been set by the therapist, the patient is discharged by the PT.

There are pros and cons to both positions.  It has to be your personal preference.
I chose to go through a PTA program because I didn't want to go to school for seven years and was in need of money.