Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Pediatrics >> Newborn positions Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Newborn positions - July 12, 2009 12:35:24 PM   
PTjunkie0108

Hi all, I am hoping for some help here. I am a physical therapist, but I am also a dad of a 2 month old baby boy. Very exciting, but a lot of work. The reason for this post is to get some feedback on the different products they sell out there to put your newborn in. My wife and I have had multiple discussions about this, but I feel like with some advice from pediatric Physical Therapists, we can get some good feedback.

We have purchased or have been given multiple baby seats (i.e. bouncer chair, high chair, swing, jumparoo, boppy chair), and during the day when my wife is trying to get things done around the house, she will put him in any of these chair for a lengh of time (varies from 15 mins. to an hour), sometimes even at night if he is getting fussy while sleeping on his back. I have read on websites and have been told by people that these products that are so available to us parents are bad for their development, and that letting the child lie in supine or prone throughout the day (or holding them of course) is the best position for them. My wife tends to think that it is ok to leave them in these seats a little bit longer than I am comfortable with, but I on the other hand (the thinking PT that I am), am not comfortable with putting him in all these seats all the time. My concern is that by doing this, it puts them in different positions that may hinder his cognitive and motor developments.