Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Students >> Resume Advice Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Resume Advice - April 15, 2009 3:57:08 AM   
gshoops75

Hi all, as an upcoming August graduate, I'm starting to get my resume updated.  Hoping I can get some feedback here.  I've done several resume's before, but this will be my first PT resume.  My question regards whether or not (and if so, how) to include information about my pre-PT career.  I'm 33, so I've got plenty of it, and while I know hiring managers are most concerned with clinical skill, I think (ie, hope!) my extensive professional background should count for something.  I've got experience as a speed-agility-quickness trainer, high school teacher, sales manager, basketball coach, and sports official.  I've also been a member of the Rotary Club, serving as a board member and event organizing chairperson.  Also, while in school I've been a graduate assistant, student fundraising chairperson, class vice-president, and presented original research at my school's graduate research symposium. 
How much of that would would you include if it were your resume or how much of it would catch your eye if it came across your desk?  I guess I'm just trying to put some distance between myself and other new grads who have come straight from UG and/or have minimal professional work history.  Also, I've paid my own way and raised 2 kids (5 mo & 22 mo, gotta brag on 'em!) during school.  Does that have a place?  Sorry for the length, it's been almost 10 years since my last new-grad resume!  Thanks for your help/advice...

Grant S
Post #: 1
RE: Resume Advice - April 15, 2009 5:48:20 AM   
thebilljones