My Forums 
Search
  FAQ  Log Out
Follow @RehabEdge

Ideas on research project

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Sports & Fitness >> Ideas on research project Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Ideas on research project - April 2, 2008 4:01:56 AM   
gshoops75

Hi all.  I'm a 1st yr PT student working on a research project.  The catch is that it has to be BIOMECHANICAL in nature.  The goal is do some background/significance of topic work, then develop a research question that we would like to answer and the methods necessary to answer it.  My wife had some female athlete triad issues in college and when I mentioned that to my prof, he suggested that I look into the increased incidence of stress fractures in amenorrheic female runners.  We refined that idea a bit to include the decreased bone mass aspect (somewhat biomechanical) associated w/ both amenorrhea and stress fractures.  However, as I read through the research, I'm having a difficult time coming up with any sort of research question on that topic - at least one that would involve the manipulation of any variable(s).  There doesn't seem to be much that's debatable: amenorrhea leads to hypoestrogenic decreased bone density; decreased bone density leads to stress fractures (assuming a unchanged load)...ergo, amenorrhea leads to stress fractures.  Where's the biomechanics?  To me, it's more of a metabolic/physiologic research area.  So, I'm wondering, am I missing something here, or do I go back to my prof and suggest going a different direction with stress fractures, say the degree of pronation/supination in propulsion and it's relationship.  Any thoughts?
Post #: 1
RE: Ideas on research project - April 2, 2008 2:00:34 PM   
Tom Reeves DPT ATC