My Forums 
Search
  FAQ  Log Out
Follow @RehabEdge

DC/PT Clinic

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Private Practice / Business Development >> DC/PT Clinic Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
DC/PT Clinic - September 4, 2007 6:22:08 AM   
cmccray

Hello everyone,

I have been attempting to gather information regarding a collaborated DC/PT clinic.  I've heard horror stories and I've heard success stories.  I need to crunch the numbers to see just how much more profitable our corporation could be, but from what my finance person is telling me, receivables could jump as much as 20% - which is a significant gain over the added payroll.

I am not a doctor.  My father and brother are the DCs.  I am the businessman.  A few of my most important roles as the CEO are to build and enforce policy, manage staffing, and produce the most end-of-year profit possible (as any business should).  I've been warned not to focus on "greed money" such as the lucritive potential of adding a PT to our clinic by more than one DC.  What they don't understand is the business ethic of a corporation's reason for existance to its shareholders.

I am wondering if there are any practicioners in the house who participate in, or know of someone who successfully manages, a DC/PT clinic.  I am not in the slightest interested in bringing an MD into the picture.  I want to keep it as natural, structural, and comprehensive as possible, but at the same time staying under the radar legally between referring in-house doctors.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Chris
Post #: 1
RE: DC/PT Clinic - November 3, 2007 5:18:38 PM   
BillW

I do not think this a good idea.  PT's and chiro's do not subscribe to the same medical belief system.  Also, many PT's do their own physical therapy based manipulation.  Having a chiro do that and a PT at the same time will cause problems, as will limiting the scope of eithers practice.