My Forums 
Search
  FAQ  Log Out
Follow @RehabEdge

The Power of Words

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> The Therapist's Coach >> The Power of Words Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
The Power of Words - May 21, 2006 4:33:00 PM   
cnelligan

It was a day like any other except that an overheard conversation had ended a twenty year partnership, dissolved a rehab company and bitterly separated a father/son relationship in one afternoon. Sitting on the 50 yard line as a professional coach, I am honoured and privileged to often share in many realities that have been created by my clients' own words.

We must take responsibility for our words. We must constantly stop and examine the intent behind them before they leave our mouths.

With our patients we know what we say and how we say it is powerful to their healing process. Sharing treatment long and short term goals out loud with them is as you well know, a critical step in making recovery a reality in the co-creative process.

It's funny how everyone drives around with a cell phone or blue tooth attached to their ear and still can't find the words to communicate in a positive and effective way. Words can build up or words can destroy. But most people speak without intention; they simply say whatever comes to mind. Speak with intention, and your actions take on new purpose. Speak with power, and you act with power.