Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Open Forum >> Stem Machine Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Stem Machine - October 26, 2005 9:05:00 AM   
wfweirich

I am an officer with an All Sports booster club for a small 3A school in Texas. We are being asked to approve the purchase of a "stem machine" to allow our trainer a more proactive role in injured player's rehab progress. I know nothing about such a device. Can anyone shed some light on what the machine does, and is it a good idea to have a tool like this in a high school training room? Thanks in advance for your time.

wfw
Post #: 1
Re: Stem Machine - October 26, 2005 12:18:00 PM   
physiosteve

wfw,
Do you perhaps mean "stim machine"? That would be a muscle stimulator. Uses an electrical current to activate skeletal muscle.

Steve.

(in reply to wfweirich)
Post #: 2
Re: Stem Machine - October 26, 2005 12:36:00 PM   
Sebastian Asselbergs

I would suggest that whomever is asking for that investment by the school/team, should be able to bring some references (randomised controlled studies) to show that they do better than not having one.... If there are no references or studies, you would invest your money strictly based on your trust in the opinion of another.

Mundi vult decipi

(in reply to wfweirich)
Post #: 3
Re: Stem Machine - October 26, 2005 1:07:00 PM   
paulpt

This person should have put together a proposal and list the nebefits of this purchase and note the potential risk and liability issues. Not sure who would be on the hook in a civil matter if this machine caused any harm - but that should be addressed in the proposal.