Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [RehabEdge Forum] >> Open Forum >> Myasthenia Gravis Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Myasthenia Gravis - March 14, 2001 3:50:00 PM   
chebrandon

I'm a PT student and am involved with a group progect on Myasthenia Gravis for neuropathology class. None of us have ever seen or treated this disease, and we were wondering if anybody could share with us any interesting experiences they have had in treating patients with this disease. Any stories, articles, tips, or info would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Post #: 1
Re: Myasthenia Gravis - March 15, 2001 8:13:00 AM   
Neil Spielholz

As far as I know, physical therapists are not routinely called upon to "treat" patients with mysastenia gravis. This condition is, as you've probably already discovered, an auto-immune disease where the body makes antibodies to its own acetylcholine receptors at neuromuscular junctions. Treatment is primarily directed at improving neuromuscular junction transmission using anti-cholinesterase medication. When appropriate doses are found, patients do well. However, the word "gravis" in the name of the disease indicates that the condition can be fatal. Respiratory arrest, which can be sudden (I once witnessed such an event in our neuromuscular disease clinic) requires immediate emergency attention, but that's another issue. Aristotle Onassis was an example of an individual who had the condition. He accomplished quite a bit in his lifetime, but died of it (if my memory serves me correctly). Hope this helps. Let us know if you find anything else as far as physical therapy treatment goes.
Neil I. Spielholz

[QUOTE]Originally posted by chebrandon: